So, where do you see yourself 5 years from now?

  1. I am extremely grateful for my current position. I was rescued from a negative situation (caused by a previous employer, but that’s another conversation) and I am thrilled to do what I do.
  2. (or is this 2.1?) At my age, the chance to still offer value to a new employer is a blessing.
    1. I brought my skill set, but
    2. They took a chance on me learning a new context.
    3. I think it’s worked out so far.
  3. Employers have to offer a career growth plan in order to keep talented employees.
    1. I totally support that
    2. I am not part of that audience
      1. In my 1on1 meeting today with my team lead, I shared
        1. My age
        2. Based on my age, I am not interested in building my career.
        3. Rather, I’m working on finishing my career with this employer.
        4. This won’t apply to youngsters on their career path, but…
  4. I want to do what I do to the best of my ability for the rest of my career
    1. I don’t need to move up the career ladder
    2. Despite where this is in the outline hierarchy, here’s the Main Point:
      1. I teach
      2. When I think about my favorite teachers, all of them ended their careers doing this
        1. They didn’t progress up the career ladder
        2. Instead, they influenced thousands of students just like they influenced me.
        3. I am profoundly grateful for their careers.
      3. I do not want to be downgraded for doing what I love to do in my career without the desire to “progress” away from it. I will not allow it.
    3. I believe my (hopefully last) employer appreciates and supports my career decision.
    4. Do you?
Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a comment